Skip to content

My Day "Off"

March 18, 2008

DH is off this week so today he took the kids to his parents and gave me a day off. By “day” I mean, I helped load them into the car at 11:45am after getting them dressed, fed, and kept them entertained while DH worked in the yard. I expect them to return any minute now. Still, a day off is a day off.

It was great because I got to do some of my favorite child-free activities:

  • I went swimming at the Y. This was my first time ever using the pool. Their lap swim times are either late at night, during dinner, or during a time when I’d have to leave the kids in ChildWatch. The last one is no good because R.ita is still adjusting to being left there. When they pull me off the treadmill to get her isn’t so bad but I figure that getting pulled out of the pool would prove to be a tricky situation. I miss swimming and am more motivated to get R.ita adjusted to being away from me.
  • I went to my favorite used bookstore. This is one of those tiny little crowded stores that does not accommodate my double stroller at all. I barely fit down some of the aisles. So I was thrilled for an opportunity to visit and turn in some books for store credit.
  • I went clothes shopping. It’s the time of year where winter stuff is deeply discounted at some of my favorite stores. I found jeans for $3.25, a skirt for 4.20, and a dressy shirt for $3.70. The best deal? The brand name workout shorts I found for $1.80!
  • I dropped off flyers door to door. Okay, this is less fun but an activity that is usually hampered by two children. I’m working with a group that is petitioning our local government for improved recycling. Part of that involves going door to door handing out flyers. People are nicer to me when I have one of the girls with me but it takes about 8 times a long. Especially if steps are involved.
  • I visited my favorite crafts store.
  • I went grocery shopping.
  • I did a load of laundry.
  • I ate a late lunch/early dinner in a restaurant. It was nice not to have to cut up anyone’s meat or worry about spills.

In other words, I managed to accomplish a weeks worth of errands/activities in 6.5 hours. I’m really wondering what I did with my time before the kids were born.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    March 19, 2008 12:37 am

    Glad you got a day to yourself. Wow, you accomplished a lot! See, you’re way better than me. I would have taken a nap, watched a movie, read a book, soaked in the tub, then taken another nap, and maybe ordered in dinner. HA!

  2. Kristin.... permalink
    March 19, 2008 2:10 am

    Oh my goodness, am I jealous! My husband is “off” tomorrow, so I will be running errands that I normally do not do during the week with the 3 home. It’s just too difficult to shop with the girls in a stroller.

  3. MaryBeth permalink
    March 19, 2008 3:37 am

    I am slowly making my way through the Blog Party links. Your girls adorable! I guess I take for granted the days when my hubbie is home to watch our four girls (we have a 3 year old singleton and 18 month old triplets). Maybe I should make better use of my “off” time… great sample day off plan!

  4. carrie permalink
    March 19, 2008 4:45 am

    Perfect Day OFF! I love your DH for giving it to you.

    And yeah for you and your changing government! I’m impressed, for sure!

  5. Saly permalink
    March 19, 2008 4:36 pm

    WOW!! I would love to have a day like that!!

  6. The Kesten Family permalink
    March 20, 2008 12:38 am

    amazing how much we can get done when the kiddies aren’t in tow.. esp with your double stroller! 🙂 happy to her you 6.5 hr hiatus was a nice one.

  7. The four little penguins say: permalink
    March 20, 2008 3:34 am

    Hooray for free time! What a wonderful day.

    PS. I just wanted to let you know I tagged you. 🙂 Check out my blog for details…

  8. rumi permalink
    March 21, 2008 4:58 pm

    Hey, I just wanted to say that I am a BIG FAN of your blog!!

    I live in Japan, quit my job for my husband was relocated to the coutry-side of Japan, gave birth to my son last Novemeber,,,and was extremely irritated by feeling that I am no one except “a mother”…your blog inspired me!

  9. Gerbil permalink
    March 21, 2008 5:24 pm

    Oh, I love those days “off” because I get so much accomplished.

  10. Stephanie permalink
    March 24, 2008 8:05 am

    Nice, productive day off–mine hasn’t been that young in over 25 years, so I’d forgotten how my days off now contrast with days off back then.

    I don’t think I was EVER that ambitious on my days off. Salute!

  11. Tirzah permalink
    March 25, 2008 4:25 pm

    Ooooh! It sounds like you did a lot of rejuvinating things as well as got a TON done!

  12. LauraC permalink
    March 27, 2008 5:25 pm

    I might cry at how perfect that day sounds. I have to get my husband to give me one of those!

    PS. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

