Skip to content

My Magic Moment Monday

March 18, 2008

I just read some of the Magic Moment Mondays by Stephanie at Scraps. It made me think of a magical moment I had recently.

Well, unsurpisingly, it started with a Mommy Brain moment I had while leaving my parents house. My father had just given me my childhood photo album. The one with the only copy of my baby photo from Korea. The one with my Christening photos, first birthday, meeting my baby brother for the first time, and pretty much all the important stuff up to age 4. Plus, I don’t have a lot of pictures of my mother so I was also really happy to see that the album included a few nice photos of her.

At any rate, leaving my parents’ home right around two cranky toddlers’ bedtime is chaos at best. Loading the car involves multiples trips carrying booster seats, toys, change of clothing, leftover food, etc. (And DH wasn’t with us.) Sometimes my extra arm fails to materialize and I’m forced to put things on the ground or on the roof while I’m loading up. (Can you see where this is going?) Upon finally getting both girls settled in we began the drive home. It’s about a 30 minute ride literally involving going over the river and through the woods (to grandmother’s house we go…)

Thirty minutes is a really long time when one baby is crying in the backseat. It’s even longer if two babies are crying in the backseat. I arrived home somewhat frazzled and hustled the girls into bed. I went back out to the van and spotted my cherished photo album sitting on the roof. I still don’t know whether to laugh or cry. Either way, I’m positive my mom and grandmother were looking out for me big time. It’s impossible to think it stayed on my roof otherwise.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. MightyMom permalink
    March 18, 2008 11:30 am

    Modern Miracles constantly amaze me!

  2. Kristin.... permalink
    March 18, 2008 12:00 pm

    Oh my goodness. That is a wonderful story. I am so glad your album was still there. I think I’d be crying for you if it wasn’t.

  3. Carol Van Rooy permalink
    March 18, 2008 1:08 pm

    I’m s glad, you didn’t lose it. Precious memories like that can’t be replaced.

  4. Niki permalink
    March 18, 2008 1:27 pm

    Just found you thru Carol 🙂
    I’m having an online secret auction on a handmade quilt of mine. You can find the recent posts about it on my blog. Glad I found u 🙂
    NIKI

  5. Stephanie permalink
    March 18, 2008 2:58 pm

    Wow, that truly was a magic moment. Glad that album still exists so you can pass it on to your daughters. What a nice legacy!

  6. Mommy Brain permalink
    March 18, 2008 3:09 pm

    I’m so thrilled to have the album but I’m putting “scan photos” at the top of my to do list!

  7. Mommy Daisy permalink
    March 18, 2008 3:41 pm

    Wow, that is amazing. Whew.

  8. a Tonggu Momma permalink
    March 18, 2008 4:22 pm

    I’m so, so glad you didn’t lose it … especially your baby photo from Korea and the photos of your mom. My dad recently scanned ALL of our childhood photos and gave CDs to my sis and I as Christmas presents. It was a labor of love and probably took ages.

  9. Lisa & Gerald permalink
    March 19, 2008 12:17 am

    I really enjoyed reading your blog about Ive got Mommy Brain
    I also have 2 girl 2 years a part M&M Megan 6 ,Maria 4 I found your blog thru Carol also. Im glad I found you
    Hope you have a great night

Leave a Reply

