Skip to content

Tag You’re It!

March 28, 2008

I was tagged with a meme by The Four Little Penguins.

Rules are:

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Okay, here goes:

1. I just looked up the word “Meme” because I still wasn’t sure about how to pronounce it. I’m still confused because Wiki’s was different from Dictionary.com.

2. I went swimming the other day because R. said that’s what she wanted to do when I asked. I don’t know if it’s because I love to swim or because it was a rare time that what she requested didn’t involve Elmo or Dora. Or maybe it’s because my other daughter requested to “see snow. wear gloves.” I just can’t relate to that.

3. While I was swimming with R., I left A. by herself in C.hild W.atch. Literally, she was the only child there. When DH suggested that might have been hard for her I pointed out that for possibly the first time in her life, A. was in a room full of “new to her” toys that she did not have to share with a single other person. What’s not to love?

4. In 4th grade science we had to repeat over and over and over again the phrase “KPCOFGS.” And to this day I will never forget Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, Species. I can’t remember what I had for dinner last night but I can remember the “classification of life” from 4th grade science. Go me.

5. I actually read Robert’s Rules of Order from cover to cover. It seemed important at the time. Ten years later I want the space it’s taking up in my brain for other stuff. Like remembering where I put my car keys.

6. I spent 15 minutes on the treadmill today alternating running and power walking. After 15 minutes I was exhausted but energized. (I completely get how people are addicted to running now…) But in those 15 minutes I only burned enough calories to work off a single 1.5 ounce butter cream egg. You don’t even want to know how many hours I’d have to spend on the treadmill to work off all the eggs I’ve eaten…let’s just say my iPod shuffle doesn’t hold enough music.

7. I love to read. My local library has this service where you can request books from other libraries if they don’t have it. I have made so many requests that they know me when I come in. I have my library card number memorized. (As opposed to useful numbers like DH’s SSN or my sister’s phone #.)

Ok, so I am now tagging…
-Milk Mama did this recently HERE.
-Mommy Daisy did it TOO.
JamieM because I love the music on her blog.
Kristin because she’s got twin girls too.
Carol even though she’s got me worried about restaurant ketchup.
Gerbil because her racoon story made me laugh.
saly because it’s nice not being the only one behind in photos.
There’s a bunch of people who I didn’t tag because I noticed that they never do memes. But if you decided to do it comment so I can add you. I never want to leave anyone out. I was always picked last for dodgeball so I have a complex about leaving people out. 😉

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    March 28, 2008 1:39 pm

    This was fun. Thanks for the link too.

    I remember KPCOFGS sometimes, but I don’t think it was drilled into me that well. I have to think about it then I’ll remember, but that’s from high school biology. Geesh, that stuck with you. I can’t laugh, I have things like that I remember from elementary school too. Like my 5th grade teacher telling us “S U C C E S S that’s the way we spell success”. SHe was a cheerleader in HS and it was a cheer, but I’ll never forget how to spell success. 😉

    I love the statement you made about that book taking up valuable brain space. It got me thinking about all the silly things that take up space in my mind too.

  2. jenn permalink
    March 28, 2008 2:23 pm

    My library does the same thing, only I’m convinced it doesn’t actually work. I requested a book, Water For Elephants, 6 months ago. It’s still not available, so I went to wal-mart and bought a copy! It was a good book, too.

  3. Kristin.... permalink
    March 28, 2008 2:40 pm

    Thanks for the tag! I’m done!

  4. Kristin.... permalink
    March 28, 2008 7:14 pm

    I don’t really know what Meme means either, but it was cool to be tagged!
    🙂

  5. Stephanie permalink
    March 29, 2008 7:06 pm

    Loved the meme! I can SO identify with the butter cream egg entry! I don’t think I can ever exercise it all off–no one’s lived that long since the Old Testament.

  6. Rebecca permalink
    March 31, 2008 1:42 am

    Too funny! I just hopped over to tag you myself!!! ;^)

    So what did you find out about MEME????

  7. Carol Van Rooy permalink
    March 31, 2008 1:45 am

    I too have posted my random 7.

    Pop by soon, to check them out and
    thanx again for including me.

  8. Reluctant Housewife permalink
    April 1, 2008 8:57 pm

    Meme rhymes with mean, doesn’t it? Gosh, I hope so ’cause that’s how I’ve been saying it.

Leave a Reply

