Skip to content

Whoa! Big!

April 3, 2008

I was sitting on the couch yesterday and R. was playing with my feet. Out of the blue and without any prompting she exclaims, “Whoa, BIG feet!” On the one hand, it’s really cute that she’s making an observation on her own that doesn’t involve a demand for food or Dora. On the other hand, does one of her first unscripted sentences have to insult my size 8.5 feet? Of course, I wasn’t insulted when A. pointed to my chest and said, “Oooo, big boobies” (they are if you compare them to a 2 year old’s chest. Otherwise, no.) but I sure hope she doesn’t say that in public…or to a stranger!

Speaking of “big,” the girls have outgrown their sneakers. I can’t complain since it took over six months and it was the very first time I had actually purchased full price (minus the twin discount) sneakers from S.tride R.ite. I picked up new (to them) sneakers at a local MOMs club sale. They were chosen solely for the size and price but they happen to light up and have Elmo/Zoe on them.

I must write to the manufacturer about the placement of those characters. (Towards the very back on the outside.) My poor kids spent ages trying to bend their bodies like pretzels so they could see Elmo/Zoe AND make the shoes light up. I finally had to help them get into position while tapping the sole of the shoe myself. Wouldn’t it make more sense for Elmo to be on the front where no one would get hurt trying to see him?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    April 3, 2008 2:59 am

    Better she comment on the size of your “boobies” then going up to a stranger at the playground, grabbing them, and asking if they were private on her, too. Yeah, I’m glad Aaron is finished with THAT stage.

  2. jenn permalink
    April 3, 2008 12:23 pm

    Kids say the darndest things!

  3. Domestic Goddess permalink
    April 3, 2008 12:23 pm

    Leave it to kids. Apparently, my behind is really big, too. Just ask Bug Boy.

  4. Carol Van Rooy permalink
    April 3, 2008 2:33 pm

    I don’t ever think manufacturers think of the intended user.

    I watched a show about weird manufacturer’s ads.

    On a car sunshade; remove before operating vehicle. Well, DUH?!? how did they propose we would see otherwise?!?

  5. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 3, 2008 2:40 pm

    Isn’t it funny to see/hear kid’s perspetives of big? I love it. I remember having a dog when I was little (3 or 4) and I thought it was huge. When I look at photos now, I can see that it’s not. But it was in comparision to tiny me. I also knew another mother who thought her teeth were so yellow, because her 2 year old once told her they were yellow while discussing colors. Ever since she’s had a bad perception of her own teeth, and they are not bad.

    I don’t think 8.5 is big. I wear 9.5 post-pregnancy (9 before), and I’m worried they’ll get bigger with each future pregnancy…ahh!

    Kids shoes are crazy. I noticed yesterday that Zachariah’s size 7 shoes are almost too small. He’s right at the end of them. I only have one pair of size 8’s ready for him. Guess it’s time for new shoes here too.

  6. Kristin.... permalink
    April 3, 2008 3:00 pm

    Oh light up shoes are the BEST. Until your kids feet are too big (Meg wears a size 3 adult-she’s 7) and they don’t make light up shoes anymore. Then life as we know it is over.

  7. Becoming Me permalink
    April 3, 2008 10:34 pm

    How cute. To a two year old, I am pretty sure that Big is a compliment. They so want to be big.

  8. 30 Minute Mommy permalink
    April 4, 2008 12:04 am

    That is so cute! I’ll take a bib boobies compliment anyday! I never thought abou the light being in the back of th shoe. Your post gave me the funniest mental picture. You had better invent ones wiht the light thingy in the front and make yourself a mint!

  9. Stephanie permalink
    April 4, 2008 2:36 pm

    On the one hand we want our children to be upfront and honest with us and on the other hand, we wish they’d learn discretion a wee bit earlier! lol

    I was on my knees cleaning the kitchen floor for my best friend, who’d had neck surgery. She kept several children in her home, and one little girl about 3 years old was watching this whole thing intently. At one point, when I turned around to work in another area, she told me, rather matter-of-factly “You have a big butt.” My friend was mortified, but I fell over laughing. I DO!–and she had a prime view of it!

  10. Gerbil permalink
    April 5, 2008 12:41 am

    Jacob doesn’t comment, but he thinks sneaking up behind you and smacking your butt is the funniest thing EVAH.

  11. BeachMama permalink
    April 7, 2008 12:42 am

    Just wait. J, who is four and a half told me today that my jeans were too tight. It took me seven months to fit back into those jeans :(.

  12. Gerbil permalink
    April 10, 2008 4:11 am

    That’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

