Skip to content

Busy, busy me

April 16, 2008

So you’d think that the big news was that Senator Clinton visited my neighborhood on Sunday. But really, the big news is that we have nothing to do today. Nothing. No playdates. No errands. No doctors appointments. N.o.t.h.i.n.g. It’s really a beautiful thing. We’ve just read a lot of books, done a lot of laundry, colored a lot of pictures and watched TV. I didn’t even bother dressing the girls this morning.

It’s been a busy couple of weeks. (Gosh, has it really been that long?) The spring weather sparked a flurry of park visits, playdates, and p…okay, I can’t think of another p word. I’ve also been using the nice weather to go door to door promoting a recycling petition I’m helping with. (Yes, yes, too stupid to say no club strikes again.) All of this outside time has been taking away from my read-blogs-on-the-computer time and clean-under-the-sofa time. Obviously, I miss the blog world a lot more than the vacuum.

The only problem with not cleaning for a week+ was that CHAOS (Can’t have anyone over syndrome a la flylady) was in full force. On Saturday night a friend of mine who works for our congressman called to ask if we were busy the next day. I “only” had a 5K walk in the morning and a sporting event in the evening. Assuming he needed warm bodies at a political event I told him that we were free in the afternoon. Turns out that Senator Cl.inton would be in the area and would we mind if she stopped by our home. WHAT? My house is not clean enough for my mother-in-law let alone a presidential candidate. Thankfully, it worked out so that she went door-to-door on a street around the corner. So we got to meet her and get pictures with her but did not actually have to vacuum the living room.

So here I am, with a completely unscheduled day, and did I learn my lesson? Am I cleaning the house? Vacuuming? De-cluttering? Nope. I’m catching up with the blog world. You know, the important stuff.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Trace permalink
    April 16, 2008 5:28 pm

    Oh wow!!! So close (to me too I mean)! Pretty neat. Actually that is who I’m planning on voting for, but it is a hard decision because the two share so many of the same views.

  2. Domestic Goddess permalink
    April 16, 2008 5:41 pm

    That’s pretty neat!

  3. Kristin.... permalink
    April 16, 2008 6:10 pm

    Very cool. Glad to have you back among us!

  4. Milk Mama permalink
    April 16, 2008 6:31 pm

    I’m not a Clinton fan but that’s pretty awesome! šŸ˜€ I’d be freaked out. I’d probably say, Uhhhhh no! lol! and then kick myself later. :/

    I’ve heard of people using m&ms for potty treats! How does it work for you?

  5. Mommy Brain permalink
    April 16, 2008 7:03 pm

    I’m planning to vote for Clinton but I mostly feel like any of the three would be a huge improvement. What’s most amusing is that DH is an Obama supporter who wants to vote for Clinton now.

  6. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 16, 2008 7:16 pm

    Look at you, busy as a bee. I don’t know how you do it all. I get lost in bloggy world too most times and once in a while the house gets neglected. I think it’s worth my sanity to let that happen from time to time though.

  7. 30 Minute Mommy permalink
    April 16, 2008 10:16 pm

    That is way cool. I always tease my mom about being so clean. I say, “Do you think the President is just going to pop in one day.” I guess a presidential candidiate just might. I would be in big BIG trouble with my messy place.

  8. Gerbil permalink
    April 17, 2008 12:08 am

    any presidential candidate would simply have to deal with it. or grab a broom!

  9. Becoming Me permalink
    April 17, 2008 12:10 am

    Some days you just need to take it easy. Glad you got to catch your breath.

  10. BeachMama permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:04 am

    Wow, that is so cool. Even though I live in a different country, she is one woman I would so love to meet. Glad you didn’t have to clean for her. With our wonderful weather, finally, we have been outdoors too!

  11. April 17, 2008 11:22 am

    Glad to hear from you again! Did you actually get to talk with Hilary when you met her?

  12. Mommy Brain permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:55 pm

    She held an impromptu Q&A session with the neighborhood on the corner. I was pretty impressed with how patiently she answered questions, particularly the confrontational ones from republicans and the random ones from the 6 year olds. Our conversation with her was just an exchange of names and how old the girls were. Then we posed while the congressman! took our picture!

  13. Stephanie permalink
    April 17, 2008 2:57 pm

    Yeah, but I bet you’d have been yelling the Crisis Cleaning War Cry if it had been MARLA coming to visit! lol

  14. Nowheymama permalink
    April 17, 2008 4:14 pm

    Ooh, now I want to know where you live. Wonder if we’re near each other?

Leave a Reply

