Skip to content

Grumpy Old Troll

April 20, 2008

Today was a beautiful sunny day so we all piled in the car and headed to a state park. We had a great time exploring the paths and looking at the creek. The girls were thrilled to spot ducks, snakes, dogs, and birds. (My favorite is when they greet the animals with “quack, hisss, woof, and tweet” respectively.)

This morning we watched an episode of Dora that involved a troll that sings “I’m the grumpy old troll, who lives under a bridge.” So naturally, when we came to a bridge DH broke into a chorus of this. We continued over the bridge with DH asking the girls “where does the grumpy old troll live?” Followed by “he lives under the bridge!” (also sung) We’re well past the bridge and this conversation is still going on. The girls thinks it’s funny and laugh whenever DH sings the lines. Fun, right? Well, at least until DH calls to R. “Where’s the grumpy old troll?” and R. shouts “There he is!” while pointing across the creek to a little old man who happened to be sitting there fishing. Oops.

There will come an age where my children will stop embarassing me. Right?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    April 20, 2008 4:47 am

    Oh…that is priceless!! I LOVE that Dora, btw…the grumpy ol troll gets me every time.

    And no, I don’t think there will ever come an age…unfortunately. Or if they do stop embarrassing us, it will be the time they start being embarrassed to be with us!

  2. Carol Van Rooy permalink
    April 20, 2008 5:06 am

    Carrie’s right. It never ends. When you find that magic age, let me know. Mine are 11 and 8.

  3. jenn permalink
    April 20, 2008 12:10 pm

    um…nope. My kids still enjoy embarassing me, and they are almost teenagers!

  4. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 20, 2008 1:18 pm

    Ha ha. I guess we haven’t had too many (any? I can’t believe that.) embarassing situations yet. I know they’re coming. Just can’t avoid it.

  5. Becoming Me permalink
    April 20, 2008 3:13 pm

    That made me giggle and nope it never ends

  6. Kristin.... permalink
    April 20, 2008 7:02 pm

    I love it. The grumpy old troll is one of our favorites.

    Eventually, our kids will become embarassed by us, instead of vice versa.

    I’m not sure which is worse.

  7. April 21, 2008 1:47 am

    In theory, there will come a time when our children will stop embarassing us. I’m not sure when that will be, but the theory is that time will come.

Leave a Reply

