Skip to content

We All Survived

April 28, 2008

Some highlights from my mini-vacation:

  • How do people travel without DVD players in their vehicles? On the way out we watched Juno, stopped for lunch, watched No Reservations, blinked and we were there. And, bonus, no one cried (except for the teary parts of the movies) and no one fought. (Does anyone else have the issue where their one two year old will put her foot on the other two year old’s seat to make her cry? I didn’t think this started until later…)
  • I went three days without having to cook a single meal. Not that I’ll ever want to eat fast food again…I went to a seminar on healthy eating where the speaker brought out a happy meal she purchased in 2005. The cheeseburger and fries had not deteriorated at all, just got rock hard. Do I really want to eat bread so full of stuff that it won’t grow mold?
  • I finally go away for two child free nights and end up getting less sleep. No one knows how to party better than overworked moms.
  • I still found time to do a quick email check once a day. Yes, I am addicted, but it really did help because I “only” came home to 82 messages.
  • I talked to the girls every day on the phone. I let them talk to their grandparents and to DH all the time but it’s really rare that I talk to them. They’re getting pretty verbal and were even able to tell me a little about their day. I’m looking forward to the day they can really talk to me. (I had the youngest kids on this trip; it was amusing to listen to the mom of 10 year olds talk to her girls and realize that’ll be me someday.)
  • The best part of coming home is having A. and R. jump into bed with me on Sunday morning screaming “Mommy Ma-ma!” The worst part is having your daughters break into a fight over who gets to hug you while on either side of you and kicking your bladder HARD before you’ve fully woken up. Still, it was good to be home. R. still says “Mommy home” every once in a while.
  • The second best part about coming home was walking in to a clean house. I was fully prepared for the worst but the toys were neatly put away, the sink was clean, and the dining room table was free of crumbs. DH’s response to my awe was that when I’m not here he can’t assume that I’ll take care of it so he does it himself. If that’s not a reason to go away more often I don’t know what is.

All jokes aside, it was really good to get away for a few days. I had a great time with the other moms on the trip and I’m much more energized about my life.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    April 28, 2008 7:14 pm

    Your little trip sounds WONDERFUL! I’m glad you had such a great time! You’ll definitely have to do it again. Especially when you need the house cleaned well. πŸ˜‰

  2. The four little penguins say: permalink
    April 28, 2008 7:41 pm

    Sometimes a break is just exactly what you need. Glad you had a good time. πŸ™‚

  3. Danielle permalink
    April 28, 2008 8:00 pm

    That really disturbs me about the burger!

  4. carrie permalink
    April 28, 2008 8:44 pm

    Sounds. Absolutely. Perfect.
    Well done – and good for you!

  5. Becoming Me permalink
    April 28, 2008 10:53 pm

    Glad you had such a sweet time. Sounds like fun!

  6. Buncha Blue-Eyed Monkeys permalink
    April 29, 2008 2:13 am

    I bet it’s good to be home and be recharged. I need to schedule me a vaca! You know, more than just the hour I take “running to get milk at the store.”

  7. a Tonggu Momma permalink
    April 29, 2008 12:16 pm

    I’m so glad you had a wonderful time.

  8. Domestic Goddess permalink
    April 29, 2008 4:16 pm

    Sounds like it was the perfect thing to refresh and recharge. Fast food and no sleep be darned!

  9. Kristin.... permalink
    April 29, 2008 10:51 pm

    Sounds wonderful. Recharging is good for the mind and body. Fast food is not, but who cares. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

