Skip to content

No Home, No Home

May 7, 2008

I took the girls to get their portraits taken at the local K.K. studio. A friend of mine had had success there and gave me a referral coupon for a free sheet. I called this morning and was pleased that they could book me for the exact time slot I needed. That was the good news. The bad news is that there is a reason it has been 17 months since we last had them photographed.

We arrived exactly on time, miracle of miracles, only to find that they had taken a walk in customer assuming it was me. Not a big deal unless you have two two year olds who do not like to sit in their stroller for any length of time. A full 25 minutes later, after receiving no apology for the delay or any sense of when we would actually be seen, we were finally ready. The girls sat down beautifully until they realized that their precious mother was more than three inches away. At which point they both jumped up and climbed all over me. For safety reasons I was required to sit on the little stage just out of camera range which was very distracting to the girls. After all, why look at the camera when Mommy is right next to you.

I was really impressed with the cute photos taken of the newborn that was ahead of us. Lots of poses and backgrounds. Unfortunately, two toddlers are mobile and not as willing to sit where you want them. At one point the photographer asked them to stand still, face each other, hold hands, and smile at the camera. It was almost amusing to watch her get the girls into position, give them a million directions, and get to the camera just in time for the girls to break their pose. Amusing if it wasn’t for the fact that I needed at least one decent picture as a mother’s day gift.

Only by explaining to them that they needed to smile for Gra.nny and Om.i did I finally get them to sit down, face the camera, and pretend to be angelic. This backfired when we arrived home and R. started screaming “No Home! No Home!” as if there were torture devices set up in the living room. This was followed by screams of “See G.ranny!!! See O.mi!!!” Unable to understand that smiling for a picture to give their grandmothers this weekend does not mean we will go give them now, my two little angels threw a full blown tantrum upon discovering we would not be visiting any grandparents today. The screams of “No HOME! NOOOO HOOOOMMEE!” could literally be heard echoing up and down the street. It’s such a nice warm fuzzy feeling when your kids show the entire neighborhood just how they feel about living here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin.... permalink
    May 7, 2008 7:18 pm

    I’m just envisioning life in 6 months when we go for Christmas pictures. We had a hard enough time before Izzie could walk.

    good grief.

  2. The four little penguins say: permalink
    May 7, 2008 7:46 pm

    LOL!
    My DH took all four of ours by himself for surprise pictures for me. He won’t give me any details, but I’m convinced he either deserves a medal or a padded cell. 🙂

  3. Danielle permalink
    May 7, 2008 9:56 pm

    That sounds painful! At least you ended up getting at least one good shot.

  4. Gerbil permalink
    May 8, 2008 2:23 am

    i have yet to have pro shots done of jacob, i’m still scarred from his older sibs and theyre 20 and 18!!

  5. LauraC permalink
    May 8, 2008 1:40 pm

    We have Nate and Alex’s two year pictures next Friday and I am preparing for the worst!

  6. Gerbil permalink
    May 8, 2008 10:39 pm

    you’re brave than I because I haven’t even had pro shots done of short stuff, not even once. I’m still scarred from taking his sibs nearly 20 years ago!!

  7. Swistle permalink
    June 1, 2008 1:31 am

    I have to take Elizabeth and Edward in soon for their 3-year pictures. I am still exhausted from their 2-year pictures.

Leave a Reply

