Skip to content

Hot, hot, hot

June 9, 2008

Hot enough for you?
It’s not the heat. It’s the humidity.
How’s the weather treating you.

All phrases I’m tired of hearing as we move into the third day of 90+ degree heat with 100% humidity. (or at least it feels that way.)

It’s hot. I don’t like the heat. I sweat. I feel gross. I get cranky. And now I have two little girls who also get hot, sweat, feel gross, and get cranky. So far my only strategy for beating the heat is closing all the blinds and turning on the A/C. This will not last long since the longer you keep two 2-year olds in an 18’x20′ foot living room, the smaller it gets. And we don’t have central air, just window/wall units.

The only positive thing was that we broke out the finger paints today. This is the perfect weather because the girls prefer to be naked AND I can hose them off outside afterwards without fear of a neighbor calling Child Services on me. (Which I assume someone would do if I did that in, say, December.) I love easy clean ups. But finger painting took up about 45 of the 660+minutes I need to fill today. Any beat the heat tips besides a 3-month move to the North pole?

The good news is that the more I’m stuck inside the more time I might actually find for blogging. I hope. I miss my bloggy friends!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Van Rooy permalink
    June 9, 2008 4:29 pm

    POPSICLES, lots and lots of popsicles. Kraft Canada has a recipe for drip free popsicles made with Kool-Aid and Jello.

    If your interested, give me a shout back and I’ll find the recipe for you.

    My mom made them for us when we were kids and my kids still enjoy them today.

    Aside from that, I’d recommend a kiddy pool… they can paint and wash at the same time (HEHEHE)

  2. The four little penguins say: permalink
    June 9, 2008 5:05 pm

    Put them in the bathtub with their swimsuits on. Give them different toys to play with than they usually have in the tub.

  3. Becoming Me permalink
    June 9, 2008 6:13 pm

    I am roasting with you. It’s super hot. We have a pool, but the baby has pneumonia (in the summer of all times) so swimming is out right now.)

  4. Nina permalink
    June 9, 2008 7:09 pm

    We are frying too….I am already sick of summer….blah….

    And then Menopause Man has started making visits!! EEEEkkkk!

  5. Kristin.... permalink
    June 9, 2008 8:23 pm

    I could have written your post. But my downstairs a/c, where we spend ALL our time, isn’t in yet and probably won’t be until the weekend. Until then, I fry. It’s just gross.

  6. Danielle permalink
    June 9, 2008 9:43 pm

    WE are roasting over here too and my mom’s AC broke yesterday. Thank goodness it was fixed this afternoon. Hope you cool down soon.

  7. carrie permalink
    June 9, 2008 9:47 pm

    yeah, i was going to suggest the tub, too. we spend some fun hours in the cool tubby…and it passes a few moments.

    i’m still laughing at the image of you spraying them down and finger paint dripping off of both of them!

Leave a Reply

