Skip to content

Ashes, Ashes, We all fall DOWN

July 16, 2008

Ring Around the Rosy has to be the WORST children’s rhyme I’ve unwittingly taught my kids. But they’re obsessed with it. The most embarassing part is that until recently, they only sang “Ashes, ashes, ashes, ashes, ashes, ashes” while walking in circles. So if you’re thinking about doing this with your kids try using “Daisies, daisies, daisies.” OR, if you have a rhyme that replaces the original lyrics completely please share! Otherwise you’ll get this: (Video from a few months ago)

In other news…I’m still here. Busy with fun summer stuff. Even took a three day trip to Vegas to present on the Nationa.l Con.vention I’m planning. Mommy brain moments still happening. Yesterday I forgot to put detergent in the laundry. Go me. Sorry for the lack of posts – I am enjoying reading and commenting but just haven’t had the time/energy/interest in a real post.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    July 16, 2008 3:45 pm

    Aww, they are so cute! My son does this, but he just spins in circles by himself (after I get too busy doing it while holding his hands) and says “Rosie, rosie” then requests that I say it for him.

  2. Melanie permalink
    July 16, 2008 5:18 pm

    I am a long time lurker but I hear ya with this post! My daughter used to walk around trying to hold my hand and say “Ashes, ashes” of course if sounded like something else. We have another verse that you say when you are sitting on the floor
    “Cows in the meadow eating buttercups
    Ashes, ashes we all stand up!”

  3. carrie permalink
    July 16, 2008 7:37 pm

    blech…i so can’t watch spinning any more, it makes me sick! we love the “rosey” around here too…

    I like the cows in the meadow one though!

  4. Carol VR permalink
    July 19, 2008 4:56 am

    Believe me, the rhymes can sometimes get worst the older they get.

    From one of my previous posts…

    Dakota tells me today that there is a new version and it goes like this. Oh and she for warned me… “it’s bad”.

    Old McDonald sitting on a fence,
    picking his balls, with a monkey wretch.
    Wretch got hot, burned his balls,
    pee’d all over his overalls.
    Went to the doctor, doctor said,
    OMG your balls are dead.
    When I die, bury me,
    stick my balls in the cherry tree.
    When their ripe, take a bite,
    don’t blame me if you barf all night.

    I think I dropped my jaw when she told this version. At least I know our children are secure in telling us this stuff. BUT WOW, that’s still not the version I remember.

    Have a great night.

  5. Carol VR permalink
    August 19, 2008 10:15 am

    It’s been a while since we heard from you, and I thought I’d just pop in to say hello.

  6. Sarah permalink
    September 1, 2008 10:36 pm

    That’s a flashback to when the Orangutan was learning to talk and bushes were pronounced with a “itch” sound! Now I just have the Marmoset who keeps chanting “Rosie, Ringa, Rosie, Ringa Down!!” And don’t even think about playing WITH her! Falling on your butt is less dangerous if you do it alone.

  7. Anonymous permalink
    September 2, 2008 8:31 pm

    Here in New Zealand, the rhyme goes “Atishoo, atishoo, we all fall down” (ie: sneezing).

Leave a Reply

