Skip to content

Toddler Beds

September 5, 2008

Last month a very generous and perky friend of mine dropped off two toddler beds. The girls were so excited to see their “big girl beds” that we decided to bite the bullet and transition immediately.

Day 1 – They were so excited about the beds that they cried when I sent them outside with DH so that I could move the beds upstairs. R. patiently explained that when you get into a big girl bed you’re supposed to put your head on your pillow and close your eyes. Sadly, neither one followed this rule at nap time. The good news was the no-nap exhaustion meant they just passed out at bed time.
Day 2 – Nap time/quiet time was their chance to take every single book off their rather extensive bookshelf. At night they went to bed without a fuss from sheer exhaustion but at 2am I heard sounds from their room. Well, I almost couldn’t get in the room because R. was asleep against the door and A. was sound asleep next to the dresser.
Day 3 – No more falling out of bed so far. And no more naps either.
Day 4 – Naptime still MIA and crankiness at an all time high. Total low point at 2pm (normally 1 hour into a sound sleep) – R. started screaming “My THUMB is DIRTY” at the top of her voice. Because she had stuck her fingers in her dirty diaper.
Day 5 – All remnants of sanity gone.
Day 6 – Five days without a nap finally catches up with them. They sleep for 2.5 hours. Irony – I wasn’t even home to enjoy the silence. (I was out enjoying “Mama Mia” with some friends so I guess I can’t complain.)

But don’t despair! It’s now 3 weeks later and we are:
a. Not falling out of bed.
b. Napping for 2 hours EVERY DAY for the past 10+ days.
c. Going to bed without a fuss.
d. Telling everyone they know, and a lot of people they don’t, about their big girl beds and clifford sheets.

And for those of you I’ve scared completely who are about to go measure their cribs to see if a 5 year old can comfortably fit…I think the dropping naptime was really due to their wanting to drop nap anyway, not because of the toddler beds. We’ve adjusted their wake time and their schedule is falling into place nicely. What sanity I had may have even returned!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol VR permalink
    September 5, 2008 10:56 am

    Wow. I’m exhausted just reading about it.

  2. Perky permalink
    September 5, 2008 12:08 pm

    I’m glad the beds are working out well! The girls were SO CUTE playing in them when I dropped them off! My boys sure enjoyed them so I’m sure your girls will love them, too!

  3. Sarah permalink
    September 5, 2008 12:52 pm

    What I wouldn’t give to get the last one out of the crib and into a toddler bed!! You know who’s fighting it? Daddy-O! Because that means no more baby in this house! Who woulda thunk that the guy would be the sentimental one?!

  4. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 5, 2008 1:14 pm

    Wow, that’s such a big milestone. My son is still happily sleeping in his crib at 2 1/2. I’m nervous about ruining a good thing by switching him. He has climbed out only a few times. I’ve had a stern talk with him after he did it, and he hasn’t done it since. I’m happy to hear that things leveled out for your girls though.

  5. Reluctant Housewife permalink
    September 5, 2008 2:42 pm

    Good job sticking out the adjustment period… It always takes a few days for little ones to get used to new things, doesn’t it? I’m glad it worked out so well.

  6. carrie permalink
    September 5, 2008 3:14 pm

    It sounds like you handled it all perfectly and are being rewarded now, too!

    That is awesome – and obviously when kids set their mind to something that is when it will happen.

  7. Kristin.... permalink
    September 6, 2008 1:28 am

    Oh toddler beds. I will hold off on those for the twins as long as humanly possibly. Is age 10 good? đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

