Skip to content

Day "Poo" of 7

September 10, 2008

I’m giving it seven days. If we aren’t in a good place after seven days then I’ll just try again in a few months. What’s it? It is the dreaded event known as potty training twins.

Last week during bath time A. climbed out of the tub, announced she had to pee, sat on the potty, and went before I had time to process that she had climbed out of the tub. Which led me to the realization that she’s been ready for a while to do this whole potty training thing. So I woke up on Monday and began.

Monday.
8am. I got them out of bed and immediately sat them on the potty. Both peed right away and were rewarded with big girl underpants.
9am. OH. MY. GOODNESS. I can’t leave the house AT ALL TODAY. WHAT was I THINKING?
9:30am. Tried to get them to sit on the potty in 15 minute intervals but they keep screaming “I’m all clean!!!” This is going to be a long day.
10am. Still dry. Still wondering what I’ve gotten myself into.
11am. Just as I answer the phone, R. walks over dripping wet. I guess that whole “watched pot never boils” thing applies to peeing too.
11:15am. I finish cleaning up R. and notice that A. has peed on the potty without me telling her to sit there. 5 minutes after that she does #2 without prompting. This is so exciting that she even gets to tell her friends on the phone. (I happened to be talking to my friend when this big event occurred so her kids got to talk to A. You haven’t heard funny until you hear two 2 year olds having a phone conversation.)
12pm. R’s first poop in the underpants incident.
2pm. The repair person who was supposed to come fix our now much needed washing machine is an hour late.
4pm. I escape the minute DH returns home. By bedtime all sanity is gone but I haven’t had to scrub the carpet at all.

Tuesday.
8am. Wake up the girls and put them right on the potty. Both go right away.
8:05am-now. All downhill from there. We did take a walk around the block in underwear without an accident. But at home they’ve peed and pooped on the carpet, in their feeding seats, and in several pairs of training pants. And A. doesn’t even want to sit on the potty anymore. And my washing machine is still broken. &%!#@

The good news is that I really don’t care if they get trained. (hence the 7 day approach.) I know I’ll have to do it at some point. But they’re not even 3 yet. I have to assume that they’re not going to leave for college in diapers. We’ll make a good effort this week but if it doesn’t start to click then we’ll just wait a few months.

The bad news is:
-It is tiring to have to watch them every second of every minute of every hour of the entire day. I’ve gotten spoiled by my ability to drag out some toys so I can go off and do the dishes.
-It is annoying to have to be home or close to home for the entire day.
-It’s tiring.
-It’s annoying.
-Did I mention it’s tiring?

Five more days to go.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    September 10, 2008 6:03 am

    Oh boy.

    I know you weren’t asking for advice and you seem to have a good plan in place.

    But (I’ll throw it out there anyhow…) if it is one thing I have learned from Potty Training ’06 and ’07…no matter how much you plan and work it they will not “get it” until THEY decide it is time. I guarantee one day they will wake up and tell you, “no more diapers” and you’ll be cautiously optimistic but never change another diaper again.

    Well, unless…you know. You decide to have another child. 🙂

  2. Carol VR permalink
    September 10, 2008 10:15 am

    Claims by experts state you oughtn’t give up, as it confuses the child…. but who’s to say experts are right LOL

  3. Sarah permalink
    September 10, 2008 12:01 pm

    I wonder what the “experts” say about the child giving up on the parent! The Nudist refuses and he is going on 4 in March. I wish those “experts” would come do my laundry.Grrrr….

  4. Mommy Daisy permalink
    September 10, 2008 2:58 pm

    Good luck. We had some awesome potty successes over the weekend…child led. Cut to Monday – nothing, no interest even. Grr.

  5. Kristin.... permalink
    September 10, 2008 6:03 pm

    I am in NO RUSH to potty train the twins. None. At. All. Nope. Maybe when they’re 5. 🙂

Leave a Reply

