Skip to content

Day "Pee" of 7

September 11, 2008

Today A. got stuck in the kitchen when the gate closed. She was happy for a few minutes then she yelled “I got to potty, mommy.” I opened the gate, she went over to the potty, she peed. Much praise and a Hershey Kiss followed.

Tonight just as we sat down for dinner A. cried that she needed to get down from her booster seat. I let her down and she walked over to the potty and pooped. (Are there 2 p’s in pooped? …something I never thought I’d need to ask.)

R. also had some successes today. Knock on wood, I’m starting to think they’re getting it. We’ve made the leap to telling Mommy before you start peeing all over the place. (Cannot believe how much a 2.5 year old bladder can hold!!!) And I hate to say it but I’m not really doing anything except not leaving the house. Oh, and giving them candy when they go. Oh, oh, oh, and staying calm when they have accidents. I even stayed calm when R. announced she was peeing at the top of her voice and proceeded to pee all over the one spot in the living room not covered in plastic. But, really, I’m not doing that much to train them. Which kind of makes me feel guilty for complaining about how much this stinks.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    September 11, 2008 4:43 am

    woohoo! good job R & A!! We are all pulling for you…keep up the good work!

  2. Carol VR permalink
    September 11, 2008 10:24 am

    What about the super absorbent cotton panties and plastic pantie cover ups. We used them to train both our kids and what a blessing from fewer accidents on the floor.

  3. Danielle permalink
    September 11, 2008 11:35 am

    Sounds like it is going well. Eliza is getting a potty for her birthday. She is a nightmare to change so I am going to encourage her to sit on the potty. I know it is very early- but I am going to give it a whirl.

  4. Mommy Brain permalink
    September 11, 2008 1:22 pm

    Yeah, Carol, the problem with having anything on (training pants, underpants, pull ups) is that they just pee in them because it feels like having a diaper on. So we’re taking the “naked from the waist down” approach which has worked for a few of my friends. It seems to be working in that they will tell me they have to go or go on their own. The only problem (big huge mess) is when they don’t. *sigh*

  5. Sarah permalink
    September 11, 2008 1:44 pm

    The Boy hates to be naked (well most of the time). I wonder if the naked approach would work with him? I’m just not sure if I want to look at his butt all day!!

  6. Lauren P permalink
    September 11, 2008 2:52 pm

    I can’t believe they pooping!! 3 months later and that still isn’t happening for us!! You are doing VERY well!!!!

  7. The four little penguins say: permalink
    September 11, 2008 6:34 pm

    Congrats and sympathies all at the same time. 🙂
    I believe you are right on with the laid-back approach though. I stressed and pushed my first two and it was a miserable experience. My third, I approached it like you are doing: give him the opportunity, and if he wasn’t ready then I waited a little longer. And he trained quickly and easily. Too bad it took me so long to figure that out! lol

  8. Kristin.... permalink
    September 12, 2008 6:45 pm

    They’re doing well! I still give you credit. I am NOT looking forward to training the twins…

  9. The four little penguins say: permalink
    September 16, 2008 4:29 am

    PS I have an award for you on my blog… come by anytime and pick it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

