Skip to content

One Month

October 8, 2008

So it’s been a month since I started tackling this whole potty thing. A. is trained. I can’t remember the last time she had an accident. Actually, that’s not the best indicator since I also can’t remember what I ate for dinner last night…

R. is still working on it and stays dry most of the time. But she wasn’t the one who showed the most interest so I’m not surprised. Lesson learned: wait until your kids are so ready they will train themselves. But we’re back to our usual routine and have visited countless bathrooms in the tri-state area.

Here’s some highlights:

-We use two potty chairs on the first floor since we don’t have a downstairs bathroom. R. did her thing in the potty chair, stood up, looked at it, and said “Ooo, baby poopie.” I dropped a wipe on top of it and both kids sigh “Awww, baby poopie sleeping!”
-R. is a bit of a neat freak and hates getting herself dirty. One day she stuck her hand in her underpants during naptime. The next 10 minutes were filled with screams of “My finger is DIIIRRRTTYYYY! My finger is DIRRRRTTTYYYY!”
-Which brought us to…a few weeks later, A. got some cracker crumbs on her and went over to R. to tell her she got dirty. R’s response? “Oh, you got poopie on your finger A?”

In other news:
-My kids have stopped napping. This means I’m just a little more nuts than usual.
-Did I mention my kids have stopped napping?
-Oh.my.goodness. My kids have stopped napping.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin.... permalink
    October 8, 2008 3:03 pm

    I am sending vodka and hugs. No naps? I dread that day coming. I will go insane.

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    October 9, 2008 1:54 am

    Yay for the potty training! Boo for no naps. That stinks. I would lose my mind if mine stopped napping. Luckily he’s still taking a 2-3 hour nap each day.

  3. Carol VR permalink
    October 9, 2008 10:02 am

    huh?!? your kids stopped napping, you say….LOL

    I wish you luck!!!

  4. list mama permalink
    October 19, 2008 4:06 am

    Nobody told me what a BIG thing potty training is! It’s HUGE!! Great to have it over with, right? Congratulations!

    Jen
    http://www.ListPlanIt.com

  5. Your Frugal Friend, Niki permalink
    November 7, 2008 5:04 pm

    Oy. My nap now naps maybe once a week, if I am lucky.

    The days are loooooooong.

Leave a Reply

