Skip to content

Laundry

October 22, 2008

It has been SEVEN weeks since I used my washing machine. Don’t fear, I have been using the laundromat, but it’s still been a long seven weeks. Particularly since some of those weeks were potty training weeks and we were going through clothes/towels like crazy.

I mentioned a while back that our washing machine had broken while DH was away. It wouldn’t stop filling and instead would just overflow until the basement was covered in water. Lovely. By the time I got my act together and found a repair person a week had passed. He came out and had to order the part. Weeks passed. Turns out that my washer is not a name brand so it had to be special ordered. More weeks passed. Turns out that this part rarely fails. Lucky me. Finally, finally, finally, the part was in, the sky opened, and rainbows appeared. My washing machine is fixed.

Lessons learned:
1. Don’t start potty training if your washer is broken and you delusionally think that it will be fixed in a day or two.
2. Don’t accept a second hand washer from your best friend if it used to belong to his crazy ex-fianceé. Particularly if she was the kind of moron who would put the SOAP into the fabric softener dispenser. Who knows what else she was doing to it.
3. All of that change that has been sitting on the bureau actually came in handy. Turns out I wasn’t procrastinating by not taking it to the bank, I was being ultra-prepared for six weeks of the laundromat. (There’s so much change up there that I didn’t have to get quarters at all!)
4. Kids should eat naked at all times. In fact, keep them naked as much as possible. This vastly cut down on the amount of laundry we did around here. Thank goodness it’s been really warm around here. The cold spell came just as our machine was fixed!

The only really really bad part about not having a working washing machine is that I’ve seriously fallen off the FlyLady wagon. Something about putting that first load of laundry in really got me into my routines for the day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol VR permalink
    October 22, 2008 4:20 pm

    your brave. I would have trashed the potty training to save my sanity.

  2. The Hotrum Family permalink
    October 22, 2008 4:36 pm

    I cannot imagine living without my washing machine for that long!!!!! Wow, and to take on potty training in the midst! You are brave brave brave!!!

  3. carrie permalink
    October 23, 2008 1:11 am

    As I sit here folding laundry and blog reading at the same time (go me, multi-tasking!) and knowing our washing machine is running at all hours of every day…I’m really, REALLY amazed that you are still sane. Potty training + no washing machine = cause for insanity in my book.

    Yeah for you! And your new love affair with your washer, I’m sure!

  4. Kristin.... permalink
    October 24, 2008 5:00 pm

    I’m with Carrie. I’d be completely bonkers without my washing machine.
    I mean I am bonkers but I’d be really gone!

  5. Barb permalink
    October 27, 2008 11:56 am

    I can’t imagine life without my washing machine. So glad yours is all better now!

  6. Sarah permalink
    October 27, 2008 9:14 pm

    I second the potty training and nudity options. My machine hasn’t ever been down but if it was, I would single handedly destroy the environment with pull ups!

Leave a Reply

