Skip to content

Monday Morning Clean Up

November 10, 2008

1. My clean house lasted exactly 12 minutes after the kids woke up from their nap on Sunday. If I actually cared about how my house looked I would have to vacuum 4 times a day to keep up. Right now they are dumping all of the toys from three of those stupid bins (from their supposed “toy organizer” shelf thing) into a big pile behind one of the chair cushions. They’re telling their baby dolls that this is “cleaning up” as they throw toys one by one.

2. I’m almost back on the flylady wagon. I have my shoes on, laundry in, shiny sink, and I know what we’re having for dinner tonight. I need to stick with this. My attempt at getting the house clean this weekend were awful. I had one of those parties where you try and get your friends to buy stuff (this time for Disc.overy To.ys) and invited one of my more judgemental friends. (She’s actually my DH’s non-friend’s wife but she’s in my one circle of friends so she got an invite. I usually don’t make friends with judgemental people. And really aside from that she’s pretty nice.) In an effort to make it seem like I actually have my act together, I decluttered every downstairs surface and scrubbed the whole place. It was way more work than it would have been if I were sticking with flylady.

3. I’ve taught the girls how to help me dust. They use socks on their hands and run them up and down the baseboards. I thought it was great until they used their own socks on the baseboards at my MIL’s house this weekend. (Actually, I secretly found it hilarious but it wasn’t quite as funny to my MIL when the girls really did pick up dirt from the baseboards…)

4. I found the poop. A few days ago, I put the kids down for a nap. When they woke up I found that A. had had an accident and pooped in her underpants. I took her to the bathroom and cleaned her up. I the herded them downstairs after chasing R. out of my bedroom. A few minutes after we get downstairs, R. announces that she touched A.’s poopie. (EEEEWWWWWW!) Sure enough, her hand was slightly smeared with poo. (EEEEWWWWWW!) I cleaned her up then spent an hour sniffing and cleaning the different areas of my room that she could have possibly touched. After that I spent even more time sniffing her room and cleaning everything she could have possibly touched. But I did not find any actual smears. Until yesterday. When I flipped the cushion on the rocker in their room. EEEEWWWWWW. I hate cleaning.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Reluctant Housewife permalink
    November 10, 2008 9:20 pm

    I hate cleaning, too. Yesterday afternoon, I went to bed sick and left my husband in charge of the kids. You would not believe the mess that greeted me this morning.

  2. Mommy Daisy permalink
    November 12, 2008 1:29 am

    I need to get back in a FlyLady routine too. More so I have time for bigger decluttering projects really. Because once I’m in a daily routine with every day things, I have time for other bigger things like cleaning out closets and stuff. Good luck.

  3. littlezen permalink
    November 13, 2008 2:33 am

    Oh YUCK!

  4. Carol VR permalink
    November 13, 2008 11:56 am

    EWWWWWWWW!!!!!!

  5. kayla permalink
    November 17, 2008 4:26 pm

    I used to like to clean but with three kids and working and everything not my favorite thing to do anymore.Great article thanks so much for sharing. I’m not sure how i found you but i always like making new blog friends. I believe i was looking for stuff on our sons condition esophageal atresia, i wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

