Skip to content

Lost: Yearbook

December 7, 2008

Me: I can’t find my high school yearbook.

DH: But you hated high school, mommy brain? Why would you care about your yearbook? I mean, you didn’t even go to your last high school reunion.

Me: Yeah, I know. But all these random people keep asking to be my friend on fac.ebook and I can’t remember who they are let alone if I liked them or not.

——-
Are you addicted to facebo.ok yet? Since many people are blogging about it these days I’m guessing you might be too.

Have you had a lot of random people from your past ask to be your friend? I mean, if I wasn’t your actual real life friend in high school why would I want to be your superficial online friend? I wanted to put that as my status on fa.cebook but then I realized that all of the random high school people who suddenly want to be my friend would see it. Or worse, if you are so far gone from my memory that I need to desperately search my home for my yearbook to figure out who you are, do you really need to be my friend? Which is worse, to reject the request or write back with “hi, I accepted your friend request but could you just give me a hint as to how I know you?” I suppose the latter is especially obnoxious since my graduating class had just 187 people in it. Thus my three day search for my high school yearbook.

Must. Get. More. Organized.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol VR permalink
    December 7, 2008 4:29 am

    I guess I’m not afraid to ask these people and have on occasion as to HOW THEY KNOW ME.

    Insane, my brother has some 1200+ friends last I checked on facebook.

    I’m sorry but that is insane.

  2. Mommy Brain permalink
    December 7, 2008 4:36 am

    YES! That is another thing I find insane about facebook. The sheer number of “friends” people have. I define friendship as having a meaningful relationship with. Is it really possible to have a meaningful relationship with 1200 people??

  3. LauraC permalink
    December 7, 2008 1:32 pm

    I heard a great piece on NPR about the Facebook phenomenom and how to deal with it. THey talked about two methods – accept only people you truly know or accept everyone. I just accept everyone. It's amazing how many people ask to be your "friend" but when you try to email them they ignore you.

    I don't get it, but I'm doing it to learn the ins and outs of social networking so when N&A are doing it in a few years, I can better protect them.

  4. carrie permalink
    December 7, 2008 3:30 pm

    Good idea – to figure it out now so that we know what our kids will be doing and into when they get older!

    I am on it – and get inundated with random high school people too – but I just don’t every write on walls and such…too much work, I can’t even keep up with my blog!

  5. Reluctant Housewife permalink
    December 7, 2008 4:08 pm

    Yeah, I actually did that a few times… sent a message saying, “Hi! How do we know each other”. I was apologetic and explained I have a terrible memory for names and faces etc, etc… and I didn’t friend them until I knew who they were. I agree with you – why do you want to be my friend on facebook just because we played together once in grade 4 or you lived down the street from my best friend in junior high? (both examples from my actually experiences!)

    Some people are just out to up their number of friends at all costs, I think.

  6. littlezen permalink
    December 9, 2008 3:12 pm

    I just recently signed up (as you know). I haven’t had anyone ask to be my friend that I don’t “know”. It’s sort of a weird phenomenom and I’m not sure how I feel about it. It does sort of make me look at what I’ve achieved and feel a wee inadequate.

  7. Swistle permalink
    December 15, 2008 1:11 am

    YES! Basically anyone I graduated with is friending me, even one girl who ACTIVELY SNUBBED ME. I’ve changed how I think of it: now I think of Facebook Friends as a Living Address Book: a way to contact anyone I’ve ever known.

Leave a Reply

