Skip to content

Santa, are you there?

December 17, 2008

It’s Christmas 52 weeks per year here in the MommyBrain household. Mostly because we pretty much watch either Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer or Charlie Brown Christmas once a week, if not daily. Back in September R. pointed to a toy in a catalog and declared that she wanted it. Declared, mind you. Not asked for but boldly stated that she WANTED IT. Without really thinking about the can of worms I was opening, I off-handedly remarked that “maybe Santa will bring you one.”

Silly me.

For the past three months every time I tell them “no, you can’t have that” in a store they reply with “Santa will bring.” If they see something on a flyer or in a magazine, “Santa will bring.” Fighting over a toy? One will shout at the other “Santa will bring you YOURS!” And R. still hasn’t forgotten about the toy she picked in the catalog. Every so often she still comments that Santa is bringing her a Princess Hop Ball. (Thankfully, Santa found one at a consignment sale months ago for $2!)

I want them to believe. I read them the Polar Express and I want to believe. I love this time of year and can’t wait to see their faces on Christmas morning. Shopping is finished. Santa brings 3 gifts for each child since that’s how many gifts Baby Jesus received so at least that’s done. (We’ll just not mention their 3rd birthday. Four days after Christmas…) But then there’s the wrapping. And the figuring out what is actually for whom. And do I have enough of the paper that only Santa uses. And figuring out the logistics of setting everything up on Christmas Eve when we’re spending it at the in-laws’. Not to mention the fact that we haven’t actually gotten a tree yet.

It makes me really want to believe. If only I could just write a quick letter (or do you think the big guy would take an email?), send it off to the North Pole, and sit back and enjoy the holiday season. No worries about money or time or whether we have enough scotch tape handy. Because I have no idea how it got to be December 17th already. Santa, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry for not believing all these years and I could really use a visit now!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carol VR permalink
    December 17, 2008 9:58 pm

    If Santa comes to your aid, can you please send him my way???

Leave a Reply

