Skip to content

Happy New Years

January 1, 2009

There’s so many things I should be posting but first I have to get this out of my head: Can you believe that the girl who dated my first boyfriend right after me has married him and now wants to be my friend on face.book? We barely knew each other, have no friends in common (facebook or otherwise) and I have no idea how she found me. Weird. Or stalkerish. One or the other.

We had a great Christmas and it looks like a toy store threw up in my living room. I mean, surely there we don’t have one of EVERY toy ever made? Oh, right. I have twins. That means I have TWO of every toy ever made.

Anyway, it’s been a big fat festival this past week.
Christmas Eve: visited DH’s parents for dinner
Christmas Day: hosted brunch for DH’s family and went to my parents’ for dinner
Dec 26th: celebrated more Christmas by hosting dinner for DH’s entire family including SIL and her family who missed brunch
Dec 27th: visited my cousins and uncle at the beach for more Christmas cheer
Dec 28th: kicked off the birthday festival with dinner and cake at my parents’ house
Dec 29th: Happy 3rd birthday, A and R! Host dinner for ILs, SIL+fam, and BIL
Dec 30th: Celebrate my 29th birthday in PA Dutch Country. That night I throw out my back trying to open a bottle of soda (I wish I were making this up) and spend New Year’s Eve resting. DH takes one kid to the party I would have gone to if I had full range of motion while I spend the evening with A. Hopefully I’ll still be awake when DH gets home to ring in new year.

Some highlights of the week:
-After opening all of the many, many gifts, R. crawls under the tree and asks “where’d all the presents go?”
-Every time I told them a gift was from someone they would try and hand the gift to that someone.
-They enjoyed the story of Christ’s birth and can point out Mary, Joseph, and Baby Jesus in any nativity, book, or lawn decoration. But then they met my cousin’s son Joseph and his name really confused them. Funny is hearing a 3 year old ask a 4 year old “where’s Baby Jesus?”
-They’re obsessed with Rudolph and during the entire reading of “Twas a Night Before Christmas” they asked where Rudolph was. Clement Clarke Moore left the most important reindeer out as far as the girls are concerned.
-When we celebrated with SIL I left the presents for my neice under the tree unattended and found them happily unwrapping them. Thank goodness a 9 month old doesn’t care how badly torn the wrapping paper is.
-They completely understood that Monday was their birthday which was fun.
-They understood that Tuesday was my birthday but then they’ve continued to wish me Happy Birthday today. They also wished DH a Happy birthday today.
-I received 3 Merry Christmas TEXT messages. What happened to email, phone or plain old fashioned cards?

At any rate, hope you have a very Happy New Year!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mommy Daisy permalink
    January 4, 2009 3:53 am

    Glad your Christmas was great. Happy New Year to everyone.

  2. carrie permalink
    January 4, 2009 1:28 pm

    That does sound amazing – except for the back part! Fun times 2!!

    Happy new Year!

  3. BeachMama permalink
    January 8, 2009 11:09 pm

    Sounds like you had a pretty great holiday. Sorry you through out your back, but perhaps it gave you time to rest uninterrupted.

    Happy Belated 29th! I feel a little old ;).

    And thank you so much for your comments on my photos today!

Leave a Reply

