Skip to content

“Wife In the Fast Lane”

March 24, 2009

This weekend I had the chance to read “Wife In the Fast Lane” by Karen Quinn.  It was a good read and raised some interesting questions.  The quick re-cap is that it’s about a CEO who is struggling to balance her marriage, sudden responsibility for raising a young girl, and her business.  It was a very timely read for me.

One of the points the book raises is:  Love, career, children.  Pick two.  The idea being that you can only be successful at two of the three.  While I’m not sold on the idea that it’s impossible to have all three, I do feel like I have a constant balancing act going on.

Take this weekend.  We had a great weekend.  We did a bunch of things as a family. DH and I got to spend a lot of quality time with each other and it was a ton of fun.  However, it meant that by Monday morning I had over 200 emails waiting for me and I’m a bit behind on some data entry.  Oh, and the house is a WRECK and I have had no blogging time.  (Really, my choices are love, clean house, children, email. Pick two.)  😉

Reading this book helped me think more about the choices I make.  It’s made it very easy to say no to the most recent thing I was asked to do.  I still think my “outside commitments” are a big part of what keeps me sane as a stay at home mom.  But I want to make sure I have time for the fun stuff.  And time to clean under the couch never hurts.  Most of my current stuff ends in the next 3-6 months and I’m being more careful about what I chose for my next project.  I’ve managed to say NO twice this week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

