Skip to content

$2 for 10 gallons of laundry detergent

April 11, 2009

I’m always looking for more ways to save money. So when a friend of mine asked me if I wanted to make laundry soap with her a la the Duggar family I said of course.  The recipe can be found HERE. (I don’t actually watch the Duggar family show.)

She bought the ingredients and found FelsNap.tha soap at the hardware store for just $1.49.  The amount of washing soda we used was about $0.40 worth and we used about $0.30 worth of Borax.  I contributed the 5 gallon container.  She has older kids who got a kick out of helping us grate the soap.  Stirring was a little tiring and it was good to have more than one person doing this.  Overall it took about 30 minutes to do and the results are fantastic.

I did a load of regular laundry with my $13.00 per 172 ounces ALL.  Then I did a super dirty load with my $2.20 for 1280 ounces homemade stuff.  NO DIFFERENCE.  I’ve been alternating  for the past 12+ loads and still can’t tell the difference. I actually have my suspicions that the homemade stuff is better.  Now my 1280 ounces of homemade will do 256 loads of laundry and my 172 ounces of ALL will do about 100 loads.  So I’ve found yet another thing I can’t say no to doing – making my own laundry soap!

Anyone have some good homemade money savers?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 1:19 am

    I am intrigued by this. I might have to try it out myself. Thanks for the tip.

  2. April 27, 2009 5:42 pm

    Well holy crap, this sounds AWESOME. I may have to do this! I wish I’d saved the big multi-gallon water jugs I bought before Y2K!

Leave a Reply

